HIS ORIGINS

 

Bengal is the result of a cross between a domestic cat and the leopard cat (Prionailurus bengalensis), a small wild feline that can be found in about twenty Asian countries as well as on the island of Iriomote. It was in 1963 that a domestic cat and a wild cat were crossed for the first time. It is an American, Jean S. Mill, a geneticist, who realized the crossing and chooses a black cat of the American Shortair race.

From this crossing come hybrids called “F1” (1st generation) and then “F2” (2nd generation), semi-wild cats. A “domestic” Bengal belongs at least to the 4th and 5th generations. He can then participate in competitions or exhibitions.

With an exceptional intelligence, he is a curious, confident and friendly cat, a mixture of strength, agility, balance and grace. Unique fact, his kindness and his ability to live alongside the man are always inscribed in his standard.

FUZZY

 

Bengal has a camouflage period called Fuzzy, when it is a kitten. It is an inheritance of its his ancestors, the Asian leopards. In their natural environment, leopards babies, curious by nature, can move away from their mother.

The fuzzy period allows them to camouflage and circulate without the knowledge of potential predators.

 

So, between the age of 3 weeks, and the age of more or less 3 months, the patterns of the dress fade and seem washed out, even bland and unspecified.

At this point, it is often difficult to imagine the beauty of the dress and the patterns, which will unfold 

later.

On the other hand, the experienced breeder can have a good idea! The dress of your cat can be clarified and intensify until the age of 1 year. In some subjects, slight changes were observed until the age of 2 years. This is also the case for fixing the color of the eyes.

PHYSICAL CHARACTERISTICS

 

Bengal has an athletic body and a robust bone structure.

Its triangular head is longer than broad, and the sides are rounded.

The eyes are oval, almost round, and well spaced.

Permitted colors are green, gold, blue and turquoise, depending on the coat color.

The nose should be broad, and the cheekbones should be high and prominent.

The ears are medium to small in size, rounded at the tips and pointed forward.

The tail, of medium length, is thick at the base, barely refining to finish on a rounded end.

The legs are well muscled and have a robust frame. The feet are large and round, and have prominent fingers.

Conception / Photos / Design : Aurélie Tanné

© Les Bengalous 2016- Dernière mise à jour: 16 septembre 2020

Élevage, Bengals, Québec, Canada , Chat

819-347-2822

SES ORIGINES

 

Le Bengal est le résultat du croisement entre un chat domestique et le chat-léopard (Prionailurus bengalensis), petit félin sauvage que l'on trouve dans une vingtaine de paye d'Asie ainsi que dans l'île d'Iriomote . C’est en 1963 qu'un chat domestique et un félin sauvage sont croisés pour la première fois. C’est une Américaine, Jean S. Mill, une généticienne, qui réalise le croisement et choisit un chat noir de la race american shortair.

De ce croisement sont issus les hybrides dits « F1 » (1re génération) puis « F2 » (2e génération), chats mi-sauvages. Un bengal « domestique » appartient au minimum aux 4e et 5e générations. Il peut alors participer à des concours ou expositions.

Doté d’une intelligence exceptionnelle, c'est un chat curieux, confiant et amical, mélange de force, d’agilité, d’équilibre et de grâce. Fait unique, sa gentillesse et sa faculté à vivre aux côtés de l’homme sont toujours inscrites dans son standard.

FUZZY

 

Le Bengal a une période de camouflage appelé Fuzzy, lorsqu'il est chaton. C'est un héritage de ses ancêtres, les léopards d'Asie. Dans leur milieu naturel, les bébés léopards, curieux de nature, peuvent s’éloigner de leur mère.

La période de fuzzy leur permet de se camoufler et de circuler à l'insu des prédateurs potentiels.

 

Donc, entre l’âge de 3 semaines, et l’âge de plus ou moins 3 mois, les motifs de la robe s’estompent et semblent délavés, voire fades et sans précision.

À ce stade, il est souvent difficile d'imaginer la beauté de la robe et des motifs, qui se dévoileront plus tard.

Par contre, l'éleveur expérimenté peut en avoir une bonne idée ! La robe de votre chat pourra se clarifier, et s'intensifier jusqu’à l’âge de 1 an. Chez certains sujets, de légers changements ont été observés jusqu’à l’âge de 2 ans. C’est également le cas pour la fixation de la couleur des yeux.

SES CARACTÉRISTIQUES PHYSIQUES

 

Le Bengal a un corps athlétique et une ossature robuste. 

Sa tête triangulaire est plus longue que large, et les côtés sont arrondis.

Les yeux sont ovales, presques ronds, et bien espacés. 

Les couleurs permises sont le vert, le doré, le bleu et le turquoise, selon la couleur du pelage.

Le nez doit être large, et les pommettes doivent être hautes et bien saillantes.  

Les oreilles sont de taille moyenne à petite, et elles sont arrondies au bout et pointées vers l'avant.

La queue, de longueur moyenne, est épaisse à la base, s'affinant à peine pour finir sur une extrémité arrondie. 

Les pattes sont bien musclées et ont une ossature robuste.  Les pieds sont grands et ronds, et ont des doigts proéminents.

Conception / Photos / Design : Aurélie Tanné

© Les Bengalous 2016- Dernière mise à jour: 16 septembre 2020

Élevage, Bengals, Québec, Canada , Chat

819-347-2822